|NAME OF AIRCRAFT
|The Enola Gay is a Boeing B-29 Superfortress bomber, named after Enola Gay Tibbets, the mother of the pilot, Colonel Paul Tibbets. On 6 August 1945, piloted by Tibbets and Robert A. Lewis during the final stages of World War II, it became the first aircraft to drop an atomic bomb in warfare. The bomb, code-named “Little Boy”, was targeted at the city of Hiroshima, Japan, and caused the destruction of about three quarters of the city. Enola Gay participated in the second nuclear attack as the weather reconnaissance aircraft for the primary target of Kokura. Clouds and drifting smoke resulted in a secondary target, Nagasaki, being bombed instead.
One of the largest aircraft of World War II, the B-29 had state-of-the-art technology, including a pressurized cabin, dual-wheeled, tricycle landing gear, and an analog computer-controlled fire-control system that allowed one gunner and a fire-control officer to direct four remote machine gun turrets. The $3 billion cost of design and production (equivalent to $43 billion today), far exceeding the $1.9 billion cost of the Manhattan Project, made the B-29 program the most expensive of the war. The B-29’s advanced design allowed it to remain in service in various roles throughout the 1950s. The type was retired in the early 1960s after 3,970 of them had been built. A few were used as flying television transmitters by the Stratovision company. The Royal Air Force flew the B-29 as the Washington until 1954.
|GENERAL MOTORS COMPANY – EASTERN AIRCRAFT DIVISION
|MAX T/O WEIGHT
|54 ft. 2 in.
|40 ft. 0 in.
|16 ft. 5 in.
|RATE OF CLIMB
|1, 1,700-HP WRIGHT R-2600-20 DOUBLE CYCLONE 14-CYLINDER AIR-COOLED RADIAL ENGINE
|4 MACHINE GUNS: TWO .50-CAL FORWARD, ONE TURRET .50-CAL, & ONE VENTRAL .30-CAL
|NAME OF MUSEUM
|MISS AMERICA 62
|TRAVIS AFB HERITAGE MUSEUM
|CASTLE AIR MUSEUM
|BUILT AT BELL ATLANTA AS B-29B. IN 1956 SENT TO ABERDEEN PROVING GROUND FOR USE AS A TARGET. RECOVERED IN 1983 AND PUT ON DISPLAY.
|MUSEUM OF AVIATION
|BUILT AT BELL ATLANTA AS B-29B. DELIVERED 4 AUGUST 1945 TO WALKER AAF. USED BY MULTIPLE UNITS THROUGHOUT THE UNITED STATES UNTIL 1959. STRUCK OFF COMMAND IN JULY 1959 AND TRANSFERRED TO SAC MUSEUM. FORMERLY DISPLAYED AS “MAN O’ WAR.” RECENTLY RESTORED AND PAINTED AS “LUCKY LADY.”
|STRATEGIC AIR AND SPACE
|THIS BUILT AT BOEING WICHITA AS B-29. SENT TO NAVAL AIR WEAPONS STATION CHINA LAKE IN 1956 FOR USE AS A TARGET. RECOVERED IN 1985. WEARS LIVERY OF “LEGAL EAGLE II.
|SOUTH DAKOTA AIR AND SPACE
TRAVIS AIR-FORCE BASE
CASTLE AIR MUSEUM-
WARNER ROBINS GA